Film reviews

Reviewing Elvis

So I finally watched Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis and I’m glad I didn’t pay to see it at the cinema. I wanted to like it, I really did, but I just felt like it was messy and missing something. I’m not a particularly big Elvis fan. Obviously I’m aware of his songs and I like some of what I have heard. However, I wouldn’t go out of my way to listen to him.
I am however, a big Luhrmann fan, so I thought if anything would sway me (to be more interested in Elvis) – it would be this. But nope, that’s not the case. I did search about Priscilla and Lisa Marie and there’s just so much tragedy in a family, all very sad.

It’s crazy to think that such a high profile star only played the USA and never actually made it to the UK. The Colonel has a lot to answer for, that’s another thing and something I can’t believe I’m saying, what the hell was going on with Tom Hanks? I felt all that was missing was the villain laugh, very much over acting on his behalf.

Austin Butler however, was great. The likeness alone for Elvis was remarkable and you could tell that he had studied him well in order to play the role.

Since watching it, I have seen a few comments saying Kurt Russell did a biopic of Elvis and it’s much better. I think I might give that a watch. One day…